November 26th--I thought long and hard about the title for this post. I thought back through my life, through all the crazy coincidences and funny things that have ever happened to me. And I decided that what happens later in this post was, indeed, the most ridiculous thing ever in my life.
I started off by going to an English bookstore to get a good map, then headed straight down into Red Square, stopping off at the Bolshoy Theatre. And then I got hit with the off-season blues...
Aargh! Restoration work!
More progoganda--my amateur translation: Moscow golosuet za Putina! The bear with the flag on the left side of the poster is the symbol of United Russia, Putin's party. He's not up for re-election, but he heads the party, so all the candidates coming in are associated with him.
It was a rainy, cold day, but the miserable weather didn't do much to dampen the enjoyment of the day, because it didn't get to be much more than a drizzle. I continued down into Red Square proper.
Karl Marx checks out Moscow

Through the gate into the Square, with the Christmas tree and village in construction in front of St. Basil's Cathedral.
The wall of the Kremlin, adjacent to Red Square.
Lenin's tomb. Closed, unfortunately. Check out the snow under the trees!
You know this one. It's on all the postcards. St. Basil's Cathedral up close.I ponied up the 200 rubles (~8 dollars) to go into St. Basil's and take some pictures. It showcased an interior and artwork several thousand years older than that of the similar cathedral in St. Petersburg.


There were mosaics and murals from the 15th and 16th centuries on, often cracked or faded, but impressive to see. The pictures didn't really turn out, so I decided not to post them.
Then it was on to the Kremlin itself and the museums and cathedrals inside. I was also interested in the famous Armory museum, but tickets didn't go on sale until 1:00, and it was only 12:00. I contented myself with the other main square area in the Kremlin, which took an hour and a half to cover.

The enormous Tsar's Cannon.

Inside the buildings were tombs, gold facades, and an exhibition on priceless works of porcelain, all very cool to see, especially the tombs. They didn't have a guide, and there were no signs in English, so I'm not sure who exactly was buried there, but there were about 30 marble coffins with gold crosses on them, dating back to 1341. I wondered if the actual remains were still inside.
I went back to the ticket sales office, where a fat, old, cranky woman almost yelled at me again when I didn't speak Russian (what is it with these people? I have such a nice face!). However, she sold me the Armory ticket and I walked down to the other side of the Kremlin, taking these pictures along the way:

So much of the architecture is monolithic and imposing here. I mean, it makes sense, given the whole Soviet mentality, but it still seems a little overdone.
When I got up to the Armory, I was a little confused about the entrances, so I kept walking a little bit and took this picture of the city:

This will become important, because it delayed my entrance to the museum by maybe five minutes. I walked back down and got in line, then got into the anteroom ten minutes later. There were two entrances, one guarded by Russian military men and a metal detector. Before I could approach the desk and ask where to go, I turned around and saw Jerry Seinfeld.
I wish that I was clever enough to make this up, or convincing enough to make you believe it without proof, but I'm not. Jerry Seinfeld was standing there in the Kremlin Armory in a sweater and glasses, looking around.
I approached him, disbelieving.
Me: "You're...you're Jerry Seinfeld!"
Jerry: (nods, giving a small smile)
Me: "This is the last place I would have ever expected to see you."
Jerry: (smiling, stepping forward a little) "And I you!"
So then I stood there and had a conversation with Jerry Seinfeld. In Moscow.
I was so flustered I didn't even ask him why he was there, but I think it must be to promote his new movie,
Bee Movie. He asked me about my trip, and said he had tried to do the same thing when he was my age, but "failed miserably". He also told me it was essential that I get into the guarded exhibit, separate from the rest of the Armory. He was gracious, patient, and very easy to talk to. He introduced me to his friend Elizabeth (a Northwestern alum, a film major--any ideas who she is?) who took our picture.

Better pictures have been taking of both of us, but it was amazing nonetheless. In fact, just after Elizabeth took it, a guard came over and said we weren't supposed to take pictures.
I really enjoyed talking with him, and after he said goodbye, on his way out, I kept thinking of things I should have told him and asked him. Ah, well. I'm still in shock that this actually happened. If I hadn't dithered around outside, I would have been in before he came out.
The separate exhibit was an extra 500 roubles ($20), but Jerry Seinfeld told me I had to see it, so...
It turned out to be absolutely worth it, a once in a lifetime thing to see. Inside were huge chunks of gold the size of my head, the most incredible jewelry I've ever seen, and the crown jewels of Russia.
Of course, you couldn't take pictures, and I don't think I can come close to describing it. Diamonds, pearls, rubies, sapphires, emeralds, on and on, all arranged in delicate and ornate pieces or sitting in cases raw. And the crown jewels themselves are unbelievable--I almost wouldn't believe you could put that many precious stones on something. Millions of dollars of ore and jewelry in the same room, like nothing I've ever seen.
And then came the Armory, which was full of seemingly all the treasures of Russia from the last 400 years. 20 or so ornate carriages, suits of armor, bejeweled weapons from swords to spears to guns, dresses, chandeliers, gold and silver plates, Faberge eggs, 400-year old Bibles covered in gold. My memory can't even contain everything I saw there.
Now, what I said in an earlier post about the wealth of Russia going into cathedrals and palaces goes double for all of this, and the circumstances of the creation of a lot of the treasures are probably suspect on account of that, but it was really like stepping into a treasure cave, and something I'll always remember. Unfortunately, no pictures allowed, or the whole post would be those pictures.
After the Armory I decided to cool off a little bit, so I went to a cafe and read The Moscow Times, an English language paper. There's some fascinating stuff going on in Russia right now that I wasn't aware of. First of all, opposition viewpoints are being stifled right and left in favor of Putin's administration. An opposition leader was jailed for 5 days for speaking at a demonstration, and the municipal governments are being loaded with dull pawns.
Corruption is rampant, and, oh yeah, political candidates are assassinated and the story appears on page 4. Seriously. A minority candidate from the provinces, but still. Pretty different attitude towards the process. Putin is due to step down as President next year, but is trying to find a way to circumvent the Constitution and stay in power. I've been reading a book that's changed a lot of my perceptions of modern Russia, and it's worth paying attention to.
After the cafe, I went back into Red Square, because everything looks cooler at night, then went along to the Cathedral of Christ the Savior.



After that I took the metro to a well-known lookout hill above the city, Sparrow Hill, where there was a huge ski-jump facility and a hot dog stand that I took advantage of.


Then it was time to head back to the hostel, cruising the souvenir shops along the way. The advantage of traveling with a small bag is that I literally don't have room to buy souvenirs, which saves a ton of money.
Back at the hostel, I met an Australian couple who are in month 11 of a 12 month round-the world trip, which made me feel small and insignificant--and yet excited that there are people doing things like that in the world.
I dodged a couple weird Russian guys walking around in their underwear (incidentally, most of the tourists I saw in Russia were in fact Russian) and made my way to bed, ready for travel to warmer climes on Tuesday.
Here are a couple random pictures I took that I couldn't fit in otherwise:
Communist symbols still displayed prominently in the Metro.
This kind of stuff is how I figured out the Cyrillic alphabet. I've never been so glad to see corporate imperialism...although translating the sounds, it comes out more like "TGI Frahidehz". I think.